Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Lacrosse outlasts the rain
In the downpour Friday night, the Isles were able to weather the storm and dominate against Dawson, beating them in every quarter resulting in a 17-6 final. Austin Nichol outscored Dawson on his own with seven goals and one assist.

Football setting the tone
Facing the Volontaires from Cegep de Sherbrooke the Isles started slow but came out with a 37-15 win. Sherbrooke got off to a fast start scoring on their 1st possession and taking a 8-0 lead. Abbott quickly responded defensively with a Connor Staples sack, helping JAC gain some confidence defensively.
The Islanders proceeded to score the next 32 points grabbing a 32-8 halftime lead. Jack Zergiotis connected with Matthew Campbell for his first career TD reception as an Islander. Abbott grabbed the lead on their next possession with a 1 yd rush by Elijah Williams. Zergiotis threw 2 more TD passes connecting with Darius Simmons & Jake Saikaley. Elijah Williams was the leading rusher with 102 yds and added 53 receiving yards.
JAC’s defense led by Guillaume Piché & Louis Lavaud bounced back from a slow start to hold Sherbrooke’s top passer to 129 passing yards. Leading tacklers on the day were Thomas Blackburn & Dimitri Papanikolaou.

Women’s Soccer sweep the weekend
In a rain-shortened match at Ste Foy on Friday the Isles were able to come away with a 1-0 win on a rally from Olivia Chalifoux. The field was unplayable after 63 minutes and the game was stopped. On Sunday at home the Isles domnated Lionel Groulx with a 3-0 win. Kayla Donaldson, Caroline Gubernat and Jena Bertagnolli were the Isles scorers, Lauriane Castonguay recorded the 2 clean sheets on the weekend.

Baseball shown no mercy by Lionel Groulx
The Islanders suffered their worst loss of the season, 12-2, a mercy rule defeat. The team committed 5 errors and the pitching was inconsistent. First baseman Jared Lo Russo had a strong night at the plate going 3 for 3 with two doubles and an RBI, the other Abbott run was driven in by catcher Nick Arsenault.

Golf team in final tune up before Provincials
The golf team was led once again this week by Emily Romancew, with a solid round of ball-striking. Her 75 left her one shot off the women’s’ lead. Cedric Regaudie’s 79 and Joey Gerace’s 80 ed the men, with Aidan Turner and Zaire Odle shooting 81, and Brian Zhang and Cameron Long shooting 83.

Women’s basketball
Present and former Islanders met Friday night in the Casgrain Gym for a friendly but competitive game in which featured three decades of players. The alumnae line-up included former All-Canadian Kristina Steinfort who led John Abbott to a National Championship in the 1990s before any of the present Islanders were born. The game was nip-and-tuck throughout with the Alumnae taking a seven-point lead early in the fourth quarter before Abbott rallied for a 71-63 victory. Zoe Arvanitis led the way with a game-high 17 points including five three-pointers while Kaylee Williams chipped in with 13 points. Girlie Owusu and Emily Dias added 10 points to the winning cause while recently graduated Alexis Maniatis and Darnelle Noel had 12 and 11 points respectively for the Alumni.

Other scores
Men’s Rugby win 47-12 over Marianopolis
Men’s Soccer D2 tie Rosemont 1-1 to stay undefeated
Men’s Soccer D1 lose to Vanier 2-1
Hockey loses 5-0 to Limoilou
All final scores are available at http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/
Teams are either in the Provincial leagues or the “Ligues Sud-Ouest” pulldown menu.

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening  sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach carlos.carvalho@johnabbott.qc.ca
Simon Willeme Women’s Soccer Head Coach simon.willeme@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach  coachearn33@bell.net
Swimming Head Coach
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com