Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Men’s Volleyball come up big when needed

The Isles went 3-1 in Sunday’s tournament at Lionel Groulx and found themselves in another 3 way tie. This time the team came out on top thanks to a clutch straight sets victory over Brebeuf in the final match of the day. This result will have them in the top pool for the last tournament of the regular season. Overall they could finish somewhere from 3rd-5th depending on the results in 3 weeks.

For the second tournament in row the team was led by veteran middle Tim Quinn with 17 kills, 14 blocks and an overall +23. Despite momentarily losing his cool, captain Tyler Tweedie Smith was consistent on the day with 16 kills and 8 aces. Rookie Matthew Campbell helped carry the team to victory by adding 15 kills if his own.

Men’s basketball with a big home win on senior night

With an 82-78 win over Edouard Montpetit the Isles are now in 6th place 1 game ahead of the Lynx for the final provincial playoff spot. Both teams have 2 games remaining and the Lynx would hold a potential tie breaker over the Isles. John Abbott will be on the road to Outaouais and Vanier to close out the season while Edouard faces Montmorency and St Lambert.

Against the Lynx the Isles had 5 players in double digits; Terrell Shaw Campbell with 15, Adam Pace – 14, Rupert Jr Edwards – 12, Elie Mouyal and Donovan Allen-Beckles with 11 apiece.

Swim team still on top of the standings

Our men’s team continue their dominance as they have yet to lose a meet this year. Combined with a 4th place finish by our women the Isles win their 6th consecutive meet. This all but guarantees a regular season championship. With one meet remaining for swimmers to post a qualifying time for provincials the final push is on.

Women’s basketball let one slip

The women’s basketball team squandered a seven-point third quarter lead Sunday afternoon and dropped a 70-55 decision to the first-place Montmorency Nomads. The Islanders led 51-44 with three minutes remaining in the third quarter but managed just four points in the final 13 minutes of play as Momo rallied for the hard-fought victory. Zoe Arvanitis led the Islander with 14 points while Andrea Batrla added 13.

Hockey splits weekend action

In a 5-1 loss to Limoilou Alyson Blanchette had the lone goal for the Isles. The team rebounded with a 4-2 win at Lionel Groulx with goals from Audrey Gervais, Laurie Hachez, Hailey Burns and Sandrine Hachez. Ariane Racine stops 17/19 shots to earn her 3rd win of the year in as many starts.

ISLES IN ACTION THIS WEEK

Tuesday February 13

16h20 Hockey vs Northern Alberta U19

Friday February 16

20h00 Women’s Basketball (6-4) vs Dawson (1-9)

Sunday February 11

13h00 Women’s Basketball (6-4) @ Outaouais (2-8)

15h00 Men’s Basketball (6-8) @ Outaouais (1-13)

15h30 Hockey (15-5-1-0) @ Limoilou (16-1-1-0)

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening  sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Colleen John Cheerleading Head Coach colleenkjohn@gmail.com
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach carlos.carvalho@johnabbott.qc.ca
Simon Willeme Women’s Soccer Head Coach simon.willeme@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach  coachearn33@bell.net
Dylan Carson Swimming Head Coach  dylan.carson14@alumni.loyola.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com