Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Islanders recognize their best and brightest from the 2017-2018 season.

The 44th annual awards night was held yesterday as the Isles highlighted the accomplishments of the past RSEQ season. Our 18 teams were each recognized and their MVPs all received a bursary from our student union in the amount of $150.

The Jeff Mills Memorial Cup winner is Kwame Osei from the football team. This is the first recipient from football since 2004. Kwame was named Team Captain in 2016 in his 2nd season and was the team’s unquestioned leader. His approach, his passion & personality allowed him to influence his peers and re-enforced the staff & team values.

Our top student athlete with a graduating average of over 97% in commerce is Kelly Corsi, who played 2 seasons of basketball and 1 season of flag football over 5 semesters.

Top rookies were Audrey Gervais from the hockey team and Darius Simmons from the football team. Outstanding performances went to Annie Pollender from the basketball team and Kevin Bertrand from swim team.

Former chairman of Sports & Recreation Glenn Ruiter will also be doubly honoured in the coming months as he will inducted into the John Abbot Hall of Distinction as well as the CCAA Hall of Fame. For more info the CCAA induction visit:

http://www.ccaa.ca/general/2017-18/releases/2018_HOF_Ruiter

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening  sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach carlos.carvalho@johnabbott.qc.ca
Simon Willeme Women’s Soccer Head Coach simon.willeme@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach  coachearn33@bell.net
Dylan Carson Swimming Head Coach  dylan.carson14@alumni.loyola.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com