Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

HOCKEY closes out the regular season with a split

The Islanders were playing their last 2 games of the season against top teams. Thursday night, the team visited Edouard Montpetit, a very important game for the standings. John Abbott took an early lead with a goal by Hailey Burns. A quick reply by Edouard Montpetit made the game 1-1. Emma Piers replied right back to make the score 2-1 after the first period. Sydney Berta and Jamie Kyle were the 2 other scorers for JAC, the Islanders take the game 4-2 along with the head to head advantage against Edouard.

In Friday night’s home game, the Islanders faced Limoilou for a second week in a row. The number one team in the league managed to score 6 goals. Hailey Burns was the only scorer for JAC. The Isles will now wait and see if they will finish 3rd or 4th in the league, a ¼ final matchup against Dawson or Andre Laurendeau is set to kick off the weekend of March 8th.

Men’s BASKETBALL let one slip on the south shore

On the road to St Lambert last Friday, the team battled hard in the first half to outscore the Cavaliers 40-28 in the half. The Isles continued their impressive play, however Champlain’s overall size and depth were able to decrease the deficit to a single point at the end of the third quarter 51-50.

The battle weary Isles fought hard in the fourth quarter but Champlain took the quarter by a score of 35-14 to win the game with a final score of 85-65. Abbott’s leading scorer was Donovan Allen-Beckles 22 pts, and Lucas Giangi had his first double-double 10 pts and 10 rebounds.

All final scores are available at http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/

Teams are either in the Provincial leagues or the “Ligues Sud-Ouest” pulldown menu.

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer Head Coach coachearn33@bell.net
David Odorico Women’s Soccer Head Coach dave.odorico@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach coachearn33@bell.net
Shawn Malcolm Swimming Head Coach shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com