Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Hockey team keeps on rolling

 

At home on Friday night the Isles took it to Edouard Montpetit beating 5-1 with goals from Audrey Gervais, Laurie Hachez, Sandrine Hachez, Kiana Drcar and Hailey Burns. Aube Racine stopped 37/38 shots to earn her 8th win of the year. On Sunday the team travelled to Lennoxville to pick up their 12th win of the year by a score of 2-1. Juliana Classen and Alyson Blanchette lit the lamp for the Isles. Aube Racine was good on 33 of 34 shots to pick up her league leading 9th win heading into the holiday break.

Swim team uses home advantage for biggest win yet

Friday night in the Casgrain pool the Isles had their most dominant performance of the year. Combined the teams won by 199 points, the men taking first by 180.5 and the women placing in second for the first time only 94.5 points behind St Jerome.

Women’s Basketball come up short in St Jean

An offensive power outage in the final quarter cost the Islanders dearly as they dropped a 65-55 decision to the St. Jean Geants. The Islanders led by three heading into the final ten minutes but managed just five points in the quarter. The defeat dropped Abbott’s record to 5-2 and a tie for second place with St. Jean and Vieux-Montreal although Vieux-Montreal has a game in hand.

Andrea Batrla led all scorers with 20 points while Annie Pollender added 11 in the losing cause.

Men’s Basketball win in Ste Foy

In their last game of the semester the Isles made the long trip to Ste Foy and came out victorious by a final of 92-85. Rupert Edwards Jr led all scorers with 28 points. Elie Mouyal had a career high offensive output with 21 points. The victory puts them just one win out of a playoff spot at the mid-way point of the season. 

ISLES IN ACTION

Enjoy the holiday break, next league action will be Men’s Basketball vs Montmorency on January 14th.

PHILOSOPHY

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening  sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Colleen John Cheerleading Head Coach colleenkjohn@gmail.com
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach carlos.carvalho@johnabbott.qc.ca
Simon Willeme Women’s Soccer Head Coach simon.willeme@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach  coachearn33@bell.net
Dylan Carson Swimming Head Coach  dylan.carson14@alumni.loyola.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com