Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

SWIM Dominates by almost 500 points
The home pool advantage was real as the team dominated the competition at their only home meet of the year. The men took the lead in their category with 426 points 312 points ahead of second place Outaouais, while the women won their category with 401 points 185 ahead of a strong and usually dominant Outaouais women’s team.
In the women’s events Veterans Allison Kis (1st 200 free, 3rd 100 back) and Katrina Brathwaite (1st 50 Breast, 1st 100 Fly) were the points leaders. In the Men’s category Rookie Bobby McRae in his debut competition as an Islander (1st 200 free, 1st 100 fly) and Veteran Richard Fattouh (1st 100 back, 2nd 50 breast) brought home the most points.

Women’s BASKETBALL pull through in overtime
The women’s basketball team rallied from a fourth-quarter deficit to defeat the Vieux-Montreal Spartiates 68-60 in overtime. The win allowed the Islanders to finish the first half of the season with a 5-2 record. That ties them with the Spartiates for second place in the Division 2 standings although Abbott holds the tie-breaker.
Girlie Owusu had a game high 18 points while Kaylee Williams chipped in with 15 and Natasha Hunt added 12. Ana Mendes had a great game defensively and grabbed 21 rebounds.

Men’s VOLLEYBALL rallied late, but came up short
Straight set losses to Abitibi (25-20, 25-21) and St Jerome (25-23, 25-22) sealed the Isles faith early in the day. They rebounded with wins against St Jean (25-23, 25-22) and Montmorency (25-17, 25-13) to finish in 4th place. Heading into the holiday break the Isles will be tied for 4th overall. The winter semester will kick off with an exhibition trip to Quebec City for the Coupe de l’Est Jan 4-6. League action resumes Jan 27th at Marianopolis in section B.

Eric Poliseno again led the way on offence with his best output of the year with 30 kills and on defence with 5 stuff blocks. He has already surpassed his season totals from last year at the half way point of the season. Rookie Joshua Besner has a much improved day adding 22 kills, 4 aces and 4 stuffs. Setter Nolan Beauchamp had 68 assists as he led the offence to their best performance of the year.

HOCKEY in exhibition action in Ontario
This past weekend, the women’s hockey team was in Brampton Ontario for the 2 Nations Tournament. Playing 5 American teams in 3 days they qualified for playoffs with a 2-1 (L4-2, W5-3, W3-0) record. Going 1-1 (W3-1) in the playoffs the Isles lost by a 1-0 score in the ¼ finals.

Men’s BASKETBALL could not overcome a slow start
Friday night’s game against Montmorency Nomades was the last game before the holiday break. The first half was dominated by the visitors taking a 45 – 26 halftime lead. The Isles had a good third quarter scoring 21 points, but could not cut into the deficit. Montmorency was able to take the game with a final score of 88 – 63. Terrell Shaw-Campbell scored 24; Donovan Allen-Beckles had 19; and Tyrell Williams poured in 10 points and 9 rebounds.

All final scores are available at http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/
Teams are either in the Provincial leagues or the “Ligues Sud-Ouest” pulldown menu.

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening  sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach carlos.carvalho@johnabbott.qc.ca
Simon Willeme Women’s Soccer Head Coach simon.willeme@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach  coachearn33@bell.net
Shawn Malcolm Swimming Head Coach shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com