Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Hailey Burns of the Hockey team takes home the coveted Jeff Mills Memorial Cup
For the 45th time at Islanders Awards night the Jeff Mills Memorial Cup was given out recognizing the on and off field leadership of a graduating student athlete. Hailey is a 3rd year captain with 63 career points, leading the Isles in that time frame. A 2 time RSEQ all-star she was also JAC’s top female rookie in 2016-2017. Hailey is a minor hockey coach and a mentor to her teammates. Having never failed a class in her 3 years Hailey will be moving on to the University of Vermont on a full scholarship.

Richard Fattouh earns top Academic Honour
Studying in honours sciences Richard has a current average of 95.25%. He has been accepted to McGill where he will continue is education. Richard was captain of the Swim team this year and was also a member of the JAC Synchro club.

Rare double for female Outstanding Performance
Emily Romancew took the honour based on being the RSEQ Provincial Golf Individual Champion and the CCAA National Champion. She also took home the top female rookie of the year award as she is in her first year at John Abbott.

Football taking top honours
Jack Zergiotis two time division 2 RSEQ Football Offensive Player of the Year had 2390 yards going 151/276 with 24 touchdowns. A nominee for outstanding performance last year Jack takes home the honours in his final year. He will be on his way to the University of Connecticut next fall.
Riley Hildebrandt was named the division 2 RSEQ Football Rookie of the Year. He led the team in sacks with 5, in addition to 11 tackles for a loss and a pick 6. The coaching staff is excited to see what Riley can do in his sophomore year.

Lacrosse team takes coaching staff of the year
In the summer of 2018 the first team practicing on the field was the Lacrosse team. The coaching staff was dedicated to getting the most out of the players. Their efforts paid off as the team had a turnaround season culminating with a playoff championship. Along the way they upset #2 ranked Saint Hyacinthe and the 3 year undefeated #1 rank Brebeuf. David Paré and Adam Basso have definitely earned the award this year.

Women’s Rugby take team of the year
For the fourth time in seven years the women’s rugby team earn this prestigious honour. This award is given to the team with the best combination of academic results, community service and athletic performance.

Doc Legaré memorial award
For the third year in a row the hockey team has brought home this award for the team with the best community service involvement.

JAC Foundation Spring Fling – 5K run/2K walk
April 28th a fun morning on campus with all proceeds benefitting Islander programs.
$25 student / $35 adult / FREE 12 and under, register at www.johnabbott.qc.ca/springfling

All final scores are available at http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/

Teams are either in the Provincial leagues or the “Ligues Sud-Ouest” pulldown menu.

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Patrice Lemieux Manager Sports & Recreation Patrice.lemieux@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Gabrielle Mainville Casgrain Pool gabrielle.mainville@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach d.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer Head Coach shawn.hearn@johnabbott.qc.ca
David Odorico Women’s Soccer Head Coach dave.odorico@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach shawn.hearn@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Malcolm Swimming Head Coach shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com