Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

HOCKEY bids an emotional farewell
Last Friday night prior to game 2 of their semifinal series, the Isles held a brief ceremony honouring the players moving after this season. Six seniors were recognized, all 3 year players who were part of the first recruiting class of Coach Noémie Marin. Kiana Drcar, Cassidy Peck, Sara Levesque, Juliana Classen, Annabel Faubert and Hailey Burns will further their education whether it be in U-Sports or NCAA schools. We wish them all the best.
As for the game the Isles came up on the short end of a 6-2 score putting an end to their season. Emma Piers and Laurie Hachez were our two scorers.

D2 Provincial Championship weekend
Three teams remain in action and will compete in the Provincials this upcoming weekend. Women’s Basketball open action against the Garneau Elans Friday, April 5th in the first round. Game time is at 16h00 at CEGEPVieux-Montreal. Full schedule http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/collegial/so/basketball-f-d2/

Men’s Volleyball will play two matches at CEGEP Edouard Montpetit on Saturday April 6th, 10h00 versus Victoriaville and 13h00 in double elimination bracket to try and make semifinals in Sunday. Full schedule http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/collegial/so/volleyball-m-d2/

The Swim team will be at CEGEP Vieux Montreal Saturday and Sunday swimming preliminaries at 9h30, finals at 16h30 Saturday and 16h00 Sunday. Live results available at http://rseq.ca/sports/natation/collegial/sud-ouest/resultats/

JAC Foundation Spring Fling – 5K run/2K walk
April 28th a fun morning on campus with all proceeds benefitting Islander programs.
$25 student / $35 adult / FREE 12 and under, register at www.johnabbott.qc.ca/springfling

All final scores are available at http://www.sportetudiant-stats.com/

Teams are either in the Provincial leagues or the “Ligues Sud-Ouest” pulldown menu.

PHILOSOPHY

 

 The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Shawn Malcolm Assistant Sports & Recreation shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Sabrina Thibeault Casgrain Centre Evening sabrina.thibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Allyssa Analytis Athletic Therapist a.analytis@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Dave Paré Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer Head Coach shawn.hearn@johnabbott.qc.ca
David Odorico Women’s Soccer Head Coach dave.odorico@hotmail.com
Shawn Hearn Men’s Soccer D2 Head Coach shawn.hearn@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Malcolm Swimming Head Coach shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com