John Abbott College Outstanding Service and Leadership Award recipients

John Abbott College Outstanding Service and Leadership Award recipients. From left to right: Sofia McVetty, Mariam Imak, Emily Thom and Jennifer May

On Friday May 28th, John Abbott College released its annual Service and Leadership Awards & Outstanding Service Awards on YouTube. These awards have been established to honour students who have made a significant contribution to student life and/or service to others at the College. There were 36 students recognized for their contributions. From these 36 students, 4 students received an Outstanding Service and Leadership Award.

A John Abbott College Outstanding Service and Leadership Award is presented to students whose contributions are of such a nature that their accomplishments are generally recognized throughout the College.

Typically, the ideal candidate for an Outstanding Service and Leadership Award is a student who went over and above the call of duty in their area of service, or whose contribution made a significant impact to college life at John Abbott.

The first two students to receive the Outstanding Service and Leadership Award are both indigenous students who have had a tremendous impact at the college, promoting and addressing indigenous concerns and needs. They both have been leading student advocates and mentors with the Intercollegiate Decolonization Network (IDN), speaking at the ReconciliAction conference, and playing a key role in developing the Indigenous students call to action. Each in their own manner, have played an important part in sensitizing college administration, as well as teachers, to the specific struggles of Indigenous students.
Jennifer May and Mariam Imak

The next student who received the Outstanding Award is a first-year student who has played a major role in the development of the College’s strategic orientation around sustainability. Sofia McVetty is a true leader who has made an impactful contribution to the John Abbott community. Her nomination for the Outstanding Award was supported by members of the Sustainability Committee and several faculty and staff members at the college. Quite a feat considering that all interactions with the committee have been virtual due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sofia is the college’s representative on CICan (Colleges and Institutes Canada), as well as the ImpAct Student and Alumni Advisory Committee (ISAAC). ISACC provides strategic input and guidance from a student and youth perspective on emerging priorities, alignment with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals and engagement strategies. Through this committee, Sofia met and arranged an inter-collegial presentation with Charles Hopkins, UNESCO chair in Reorienting Education towards Sustainability.

Sofia is also a co- leader of the JAC Harvest club. Her contributions included researching and organizing the spring garden plan, which included the garden bed expansion and improvements to the composting system. She is also part of the Sprout House team, working to create an interior greenhouse at the college which not only aims to provide a relaxing and educational space for students, but to produce micro greens for the cafeteria and the College pantry. This idea was presented to and judged by industry experts at the inter-collegial Student Innovation Gala on April 27th. This innovative idea took home top prize and was tied as audience favourite.

The final student to receive the Outstanding Award is Emily Thom, the President of the Student Union of John Abbott College (SUJAC). Emily is a remarkable leader who has used her position and influence to help and support students. Emily is also the student member on the John Abbott College Board of Governors, as well as the student representative on the Executive Committee. She is one of the leading students that established an agreement and partnership with the college to install the first living wall (green wall) in one of the student lounges. Emily was also a member of the organizing committee of the Student Leadership Conference and was recently named as a student representative on the Youth Advisory Council Member at Consortium of English-Language CEGEPs, Colleges, and Universities of Québec, who’s mandate is related to the retention, employment, and success of English-speaking graduates from post-secondary institutions in Québec.

Latest News
John Abbott College Student Wins Prestigious Loran Scholar Award
John Abbott College Students Helping Students Raise Record Amount
JAC Wins Bell Let’s Talk Grant! // Don du Fonds Postsecondaire Bell Cause pour la cause au CÉGEP JOHN ABBOTT
Innovation for the environment // L’innovation au service de l’environnement
John Abbott Students at the Ste-Anne Residence Hospital || Les étudiants de John Abbott à l’hôpital de la Résidence Ste-Anne
Overpass over Highway 40 closing Monday August 8 / Pont d’étagement fermé à partir de lundi 8 août
JAC Dental Hygiene in the News! || Le programme d’Hygiène Dentaire de JAC dans l’actualité !
Laureate for John Abbott College Students! | Des étudiantes du Cégep John Abbott lauréates au Gala Forces AVENIR!
John Abbott College teacher releases new book | Une enseignante du Cégep John Abbott publie un nouveau livre
Appointment of Kim Martin as the Dean of Indigenous Education | Nomination de Kim Martin au poste de Directrice adjointe des études de l’éducation autochtone
John Abbott College and Foundation to reveal Hall of Distinction inductees / Le Collège et la Fondation du Cégep John Abbott dévoilent les intronisés au temple de la distinction
Activist Sammy Cavallaro awarded Quebec National Assembly’s Medal of Honour
News for the Program Deans’ Office / Du nouveau au bureau des directions adjointes des études
Cree students at John Abbott College mark special milestone
7 John Abbott students were awarded a Mitacs/FRQNT College-Level Research Internship
John Abbott College Librarian Receives Coveted Award
Inauguration of the renovated library
Orienteering at JAC
Appointment of Charles Boisvert as Director General of JACOBB, the Centre for Applied Artificial Intelligence
Visit of Former Grand Chief Abel Bosum and Irene Bosum-Quinn
Removing Barriers to Diversity in Entrepreneurship
Teresa Berghello Appointed Academic Dean
Calling on all JAC Grads from Summer / Fall 2020 and Winter 2021
JAC faculty members from Computer Science awarded a PIA 2022 project
Persistence Pays Off to the Tune of $300,000 at John Abbott College
Were you a full-time student during the Fall 2020 or Winter 2021 term?
The Montreal Police Brotherhood Helping the Community
Proposed Bill 96 has serious repercussions for Quebec students
Light up Live 2021, a great evening!
Birthday Cake For Thousands At JAC
Vaccine Passport Information for Casgrain Sports Centre Users
Lump sum payment of $100 for students: Application procedure
MITACS/FRQNT College-Level Research Internship Award
Convocation 2021
Happy 50th Anniversary JAC
John Abbott College Outstanding Service and Leadership Award recipients
John Abbott College Pedagogical Counsellor Receives a 2021 SALTISE Best Practices and Pedagogical Innovators Award
Joint press statement from Dawson, John Abbott and Vanier in response Bill 96
Calling on all JAC Grads from Summer / Fall 2019 and Winter 2020
John Abbott Student Receives Canada’s Most Comprehensive Award
Abbott Grad with President Joe Biden
Frequently Asked Questions
back Skip to content